Put your hands up! (Chapter 6, “Let.It.Go.”)

As I’m reading “Let.It.Go” by Karen Ehman, I’m totally amazed how the LORD continues to prune me.  In John 15, Jesus spoke about the NEED to be pruned in order to produce more spiritual fruit.  Experienced gardeners understand the benefits of pruning.  Regular pruning of the unneeded and/or dead growth on plants and trees provides energy to other areas.  Proper pruning can also dramatically increase the quality and quantity of flowers or fruits a tree produces.

cropped-pruning.jpg

I’m 51, been married for 30 years, a newly empty nester and new grandmother.  When I started doing this study, I honestly thought to myself, “Eh, I’ll read this, but it’s too late for me.”  I’ve already made the mistakes that were discussed in Chapters 1, 2, 3, and 4, and my kids (21 and 25) have left the home, so Chapter 5 really didn’t pertain to me.  Ah, but then this Scripture from Chapter 6 hit home:

1 Peter 4:9  “Offer hospitality to one another without grumbling.”

One thing I’m starting to notice is that ladies my age sure do grumble…a lot!!   They We complain about everything and anything: the weather, how much they don’t get to see their grandkids, how much they DO get to see their grandkids, how heavy they are, the music at church, their jobs, etc.  Have you noticed that, too?  I don’t want to be that way! I’m finding that I want to surround myself with friends who are positive, slowly pruning the negative relationships.

Lately, my husband and I have been getting on each other’s nerves– I’m not sure why this is, but I’m thinking it’s because we’re both trying to figure out this new season of our life.  He doesn’t like the way I load the dishwasher, I don’t like the way he leaves the cereal box opened and out on the counter, I can NOT stand the way he drives, he can NOT stand the way I drive, etc.  There seems to be a LOT of grumbling going on at our house!  Through this study of  “Let.It.Go.”, the Holy Spirit is working on me, pruning these negative ramblings from my heart and from my mouth.  Proverbs 15:1 is one of our memory verses for this week:  “A soft answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.”  No matter how you look at it, grumbling is NOT a soft answer.

Colossians 3:14-16 says, “Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom, and as you sing psalms, hymns and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God.”

Dear sister, if you’re reading this, my prayer for you is that you will experience the LORD’s pruning as well.  Let’s join together and be THANKFUL!!  I have so very much to be thankful for, and any grumbling on my part is a sin.

“Heavenly Father, I praise You as our Provider.  You provide our daily needs, but more importantly, You have provided a way for us to spend eternity with You!  Thank You for Your provisions and  thank You for Your unending love.   Thank You for this study of “Let.It.Go.” and the good work that You are doing through it.  Father, please forgive me when I grumble.  Please forgive me when I’m not thankful.  Holy Spirit, please help me from wanting to do things my own way and in my complaining nature.  I ask these things in Jesus’ name, for Your glory alone.  Amen.”

6 thoughts on “Put your hands up! (Chapter 6, “Let.It.Go.”)

  1. Great post, Pat! I love how you applied the pruning concept in order to produce more spirtitual fruit in our lives. I also loved your prayer at the end. I am also learning to grumble less in this study since I am generally thankful for everything God blesses me with in life. Congratulations on being married for 30 years, and I wish you lots of joy in your life as a grandmother in the future. Spending quality time with those grandbabies is something to be cherished in life as you watch them grow up. GBU! 🙂

Leave a Reply

