Pruning on my first day of summer vacation

summer

This morning the LORD had me in 2 Samuel, studying David’s pride. First, he was prideful about wanting to build the LORD a house to live in (2 Samuel 7), and then again when he took Bathsheba as his own and tried to hide his sin (2 Samuel 11).  I was convicted of being prideful the last few weeks.  God has given us all gifts to use for His glory, but we are NEVER, EVER to think we’re deserving or that we’re better than someone else.  I requested to be put in a different department WITHOUT praying first and asking God if this is where HE wants me; I just quickly replied to the email my supervisor sent out so that I could get my request in first.  😦

I then took out my journal and was very surprised to learn that I hadn’t written in it since April 22nd.  I had shared with the ladies in my group that one of my goals for this study was to get back to journaling my prayers.  Yes, I have prayed, but short prayers.  I haven’t been having a very decent quiet time…really sitting and basking in the LORD’s presence.  And while I have kept up with this study…it’s our hearts that the LORD wants.  Oh, how I repent of these sins!!

So as I was studying His Word this morning, I was led to Ephesians 3:14-21. The NIV translation subtitle for this passage is “A Prayer for the Ephesians”, but the New Living Translation title for it is “Paul’s Prayer for Spiritual Growth”.  This morning, this is my prayer for myself, the other ladies in my Facebook small group, and for all us reading Stressed-Less Living:

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

“When I think of all this, I fall to my knees and pray to the Father, the Creator of everything in heaven and on earth. I pray that from his glorious, unlimited resources he will empower you with inner strength through his Spirit. Then Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong. And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is. May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God.

Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think. Glory to him in the church and in Christ Jesus through all generations forever and ever! Amen.”

Leave a Reply

