Spiritual Vitamins (Week 9 of Stressed-Less Living)

Spirtual Vitamins

“If you are hungering for not only stress relief but also a renewed spirit and healthier outlook on life, cry out for the nourishment that God provides.” (from page 189 of Stressed-Less Living by Tracie Miles)

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~  ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Whenever I find myself stressing out about something, it doesn’t take long for me to realize that I haven’t been in God’s Word enough.  My quiet time is first thing in the morning; I’m a creature of habit and have been waking up at 5 am since I can remember.  I need to read The Good Book BEFORE I read “The Book of Faces” (as my son calls Facebook) and my email.   I’m one of those who is very easily distracted, and because I think the devil knows this about me, I’ve had to come up with some safe-guards to help me:

1.  Journal on the kitchen table.  This is where I have my quiet time, and by keeping my notebook there, I am able to jot down my prayers, any Scriptures the Holy Spirit impresses upon me, prayer requests, etc.
2. Cellphone AWAY from the table.  By keeping it across the room, I’m not enticed to look at it.
3.  Note to self on computer.  This is new one for me, to remind myself to NOT search the web until AFTER my Bible study time.  I need this visual reminder because I often use Biblegateway.com to look up parallel verses on my computer, so the temptation to look at other things on the Internet is always there.

I am always encouraged by what the Apostle Paul wrote, especially the letters he wrote while in prison.  God used Paul’s finesse with the written word to encourage the young Christian churches during Paul’s time, and God still uses his letters to help today’s Christians. Paul’s suffering seemed to inspire him to even greater service for the LORD, something I need to remember when I have trials.  I have had some pretty tough times, but I’ve never been in chains as Paul had been.  Here’s some of my favorites from Paul:

“That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong. “
(2 Corinthians 12:10)

Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice!  Let your gentleness be evident to all.  The Lord is near.  Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”  (Philippians 4:4-7)

“I always thank my God as I remember you in my prayers, because I hear about your love for all his holy people and your faith in the Lord Jesus.  I pray that your partnership with us in the faith may be effective in deepening your understanding of every good thing we share for the sake of Christ. Your love has given me great joy and encouragement, because you, brother, have refreshed the hearts of the Lord’s people.” (Philemon 1:4-7)

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

What Scriptures are spiritual vitamins for you?  What habits or measures do you have in place to ensure that you get your daily dose of spiritual vitamins?

12 thoughts on “Spiritual Vitamins (Week 9 of Stressed-Less Living)

  1. Love these ideas. Will definitely try it. I already keep my phone away from me and no one ever calls so I am okay with it. On the note on the computer, do you have it as a reminder to do this after the Bible study or did you put it on a post it or on tasks. Thanks for sharing.

    • Just a sticky note that reads, “BIBLE STUDY FIRST, PAT”. 😀

      I love what Lysa TerKeurst writes about having “whispers with God before shouts with the world”. Thanks for posting, Jeanie!!

  2. You have a wonderful schedule and that’s it takes, for me, at least, to get on a schedule. And so true about the computer. Sometimes I swear they are the devil’s invention. Thanks for sharing that today. 🙂

  3. If there were a love button… We are SO separated at birth. Numbers 1, 2, and 3 all work so well for me, too. Although – I’ve found that keeping my journal on my nightstand is the best way to go for me, since there is no chance that I’ll even walk by the distraction of computer or phone. And, seriously, “book of faces”? That could NOT be a more apt description of Facebook.

    My spiritual vitamin verse for this morning gave me incredible vigor for my morning – Isaiah 40:29 (I looked up the message version, too, and liked that even better) “He energizes those who get tired,
    gives fresh strength to dropouts.” Amen and Amen.

    • Oh, wow…Isaiah 40:29 is good vitamin pill!! I looked it up tonight and loved The Message of Isaiah 40:28–31:

      Don’t you know anything? Haven’t you been listening?
      God doesn’t come and go. God lasts.
      He’s Creator of all you can see or imagine.
      He doesn’t get tired out, doesn’t pause to catch his breath.
      And he knows everything, inside and out.
      He energizes those who get tired, gives fresh strength to dropouts.
      For even young people tire and drop out, young folk in their prime stumble and fall.
      But those who wait upon God get fresh strength.
      They spread their wings and soar like eagles,
      They run and don’t get tired, they walk and don’t lag behind.

  4. LOVE this! I too am easily distracted and have to set up boundaries for myself. I also sit in the kitchen in the morning and do my quiet time with the Lord, it is better this way, I get my coffee and sit down, the computer is in the other room so then I am not tempted to get on to Facebook as well. I am keeping you in my prayers and absolutely loved your blog!!!

  5. Love how your son calls us the book of faces. You have a good, disciplined schedule. I need to do that. Yes I go at it at 6 – but first to MelissaTaylor.Org and then my study and sometimes I get sidetracked with facebook soooo I am heeding your advise and coming up with a new routine. Thanks for sharing. Debbie W. (OBS Group Leader)

  6. I loved how you’ve recognized the exact little, yet powerful ways the devil trips you up and how you’ve implemented measures into your daily life to thwart those attacks. I need to implement some of your tips! I also liked how you wrote, “Paul’s suffering seemed to inspire him to even greater service for the LORD.” I’ve always know Paul was a good Biblical figure to model our walks after, but this really put a new understanding in that for me – I really want to strive to be like Paul in that way!

  7. I want to strive to be like Paul, too. Seems like whenever I start feeling sorry for myself, the Holy Spirit always takes me right to some of Paul’s letters. When I realize where he was and what he was doing when he wrote some of his words, it really helps me to put my petty problems in perspective. Thank you for the kind comment, Katrina.

Leave a Reply

