He Never Abandons

only JesusIt’s been kind of  a rough summer for me.  The realization that both my kids are now adults, living 8+ hours away from us (in opposite directions, no less!), has made me sad.  While I am VERY, VERY thankful that they’re independent and are able to function on their own, it’s also been extremely difficult to admit that this chapter of my life is over.  They’ve both had some tough struggles this summer, and I believe this has compounded my sadness.  I am so grateful that I work in the public school system because I get the summer off, and I’ve been able to spend some quality time with them.

Know what?  Staying in God’s Word has helped me even more than my visits with my children.  I’ve been reading “The One Year Bible” using an app on my Ipad.  This summer I’ve been reading out of Kings, Chronicles, Psalms, Proverbs, Acts and Romans. I love this Bible reading plan and have found peace in reading (and rereading) Psalm 9:

Psalm 91:2  I will praise you, LORD, with all my heart; I will tell of all the marvelous things you have done.

When we praise God for Who He is and His character, immediately our eyes are taken off our own circumstances and they’re put them back where they belong….on our Creator!!  I am thankful with all my heart for the things I’ve witnessed God do this summer and for the beauty of His creation that I’ve seen in my travels this summer.

Psalm 9:9-10  The LORD is a shelter for the oppressed, a refuge in times of trouble.  Those who know your name trust in you, for you, O LORD, do not abandon those who search for you. 

Another word for oppressed is broken.  Ya, I actually do feel a little broken because a part of my identity is gone.  I chose my kids over my career, getting out of the military to become a stay-at-home mom.  Of course I am still a mom, and I guess my sadness is that my kids don’t depend on me like they did.  God IS my sanctuary, and He IS comforting me and showing me how to shift in this next stage of life.  I love “The Message” translation of Psalm 9:9-10:

God’s a safe-house for the battered, a sanctuary during bad times.  The moment you arrive, you relax; you’re never sorry you knocked.

I so thankful that I can knock on God’s door and I can relax in His arms!!  God is SO good in His provisions!!  He has comforted me and has kept me busy by working on different projects around the house, exercising with a dear Christian friend, ministering to some ladies, and traveling with the hubby.

So, how is the LORD working on you this summer?

4 thoughts on “He Never Abandons

  1. I am so blessed when I stop by your place here. Every time. The Lord is working hard on my ability to see the sin in my familial relationships and yet overlook the sin in my own. Ima workin’ on looking to the interests of others and thinking of others before myself. What a lesson!!! I am comforted by these verses. Thank you for sharing them, sweet friend!

  2. I love your comment “I am so thankful that I can knock on God’s door and I can relax in His arms!!” We are all thankful for that! Thanks for being a part of #YesToGod

Leave a Reply

