Wholly Committed

I miss my mom.  ScannedImage006

 

Monday was the tenth anniversary of my mom’s leaving this world.  Mom has missed my son’s high school graduation, his service in the Army, his year of duty in Afghanistan as a medic, his marriage and the birth of her first great-grandchild.  She’s also missed my daughter’s high school graduation where she gave the speech to her class and her graduation from college this past May.

 

MamaI miss talking with my mom.  I moved out of her home before high school graduation and then joined the military.  I got married and we moved around a lot with my husband’s job.  I didn’t get to see my mom very often, but every Saturday morning, just as soon as my feet hit the floor, I would make coffee while dialing her number.  We’d both drink our morning coffee while we chatted for about an hour to an hour and a half. 

 

I miss my mom’s voice.  I miss hearing how her week had gone, her laugh and her encouraging words.  It saddens me deeply that I can’t remember what her voice sounds like and that she’s missed out on so much of this wonderful life (she was just 65). 

 

My sadness turns to revelation that maybe this is how God feels when I miss my quiet time with Him…and how He is saddened when I miss out on His opportunities and blessings of this life when I do things my own way by not being obedient to His leading.

 

I’m reading Lysa TerKeurst’s What Happens When Women Say Yes to God with my online Bible study group at Proverbs 31 Ministries.  This week we are reading chapter 4, “You Never Know How God Will Use You.”  I love what Lysa wrote on page 60, “Many people know Christ as their Savior, but the woman who says yes to God longs to know Him as Lord.”

Week 3 favorite


In 1 Peter 3:15, the apostle Peter wrote, “…you must worship Christ as Lord of your life.  And if someone asks about your Christian hope, always be ready to explain it.”  Lord is not simply a title for Jesus.  Calling Him Lord means He is your Master and you obey Him…and not just sometimes or whenever you feel like it.  Obedience in ALL things—what you do in your spare time, what you watch on TV, what you eat, how you spend the money He’s blessed you with, how you serve Him, etc.  It is being wholly committed to Him!!

 

Peter was an eyewitness to Christ’s life on earth, His resurrection and His ascension into heaven (Matthew 28:16-17, John 20:3-10, Acts 1:3-8, 2 Peter 1:16-18).  The most significant account of Peter’s life is found in Matthew 4 where Jesus is walking along the shore and he sees Peter and his brother fishing.  Jesus tells Peter, “Follow me.”  Peter was obedient immediately and we have Scripture to show us how God used Peter for His glory.

 

Lysa asks her readers these questions: “Do we really want to be interrupted in the middle of our busy lives to see God, hear God, and pursue God?  Do we really want to be compelled by the love of Christ?  Do we really want a Lord of all our life?” (page 61)

 

Yes.  Yes, I do.  I choose obedience to the Lord.  How about you?

 

PS:  Before my mom passed away, she shared with me that she had accepted Christ as her Savior.  Someday I will get to see her again in heaven, where we will praise Jesus together!!

21 thoughts on “Wholly Committed

  1. Thanks so much for sharing your heart about your mom. I had the same thing when my dad passed in ’09. I still miss his voice and the things he used to say all the time. Your post brought back wonderful memories for me to remember my dad. Thanks again.

    • Thank you, Jeanie. It feels like yesterday, but I am so thankful for the time I did get to have her as my mom and the lessons she taught me. God is so good in His provision!

  2. Pat just loved your post and sharing the memories of your Mom . My Dad passed away 8 years ago and at this time of year when the white moth flutters by I feel He is dropping by and saying hello, because the first summer he was gone and I was thinking how much we missed him God brought the moth to my attention like saying your Dad is fine. Thanks for sharing it touched my heart.
    Marilyn OBS Group Leader

    • When my mom passed away, it was a drought year and we had HUNDREDS of hummingbirds. I literally went through a gallon a day feeding the hummers who were going South for the winter. As I was mourning the loss of my mom during this time, I was able to turn my sadness to praising God for His beautiful creation as you did. Thank you for taking time to stop by today, Marilyn! ❤

  3. What a sweet blessing God brought you in knowing that your mom accepted Jesus and you’ll see her again! But I understand the missing her here and now. What a great reminder you gave us, though, that God longs for that time with us in much the same way! Thank you for sharing!

  4. I’m sending you a big virtual hug. Your mom sounds like she was an encouragement to you and an inspiration for how you choose to live your own life, Pat. Wholly committed, YES! I want, so desperately to commit my way to Him fully and always. Thank you for the encouraging reminder to follow Him as LORD always. (And HALLELUJAH that you will see your mom again the other side of Glory!) ❤ you, Lady!

  5. Thank You for sharing, it will be 25 years on Dec 21 that I lost my mother. Reading this made me think of her so much. I’m so thankful I read your blog thank you once again.

  6. I loved reading about how you shared that weekly cup of coffee with your mom. I could just feel how much you miss her and this really made me think about the quiet time with God. A great image – thanks!!1

  7. great comparison of our human relationships to God’s desire for relationship with us! thanks for sharing your thoughts and reflections!

Leave a Reply

