A Raging Battle

Battle

For the first time in about 15 years, I seem to have a handle on my food intake.

When I accepted Christ as my Savior almost 20 years ago, a lot of changes occurred.  I quit using the LORD’s name in vain right way — this had been commonplace in the home I grew up in, so I am very thankful this was one of the first things the Holy Spirit convicted me of.  As I read God’s Word, other changes took place.  I found I had the gift of helps and enjoyed serving others. 

What I did NOT realize was that the battle would continue; as Jesus is in the process of cleaning us up, our enemy zeroes in on the areas where we are weak.   As I served the LORD I didn’t know how or when to say “no”, and so with added duties the stress also piled on.  I used food as my comfort instead of going to the LORD for help when I was stressed.

As God’s been guiding me to make positive changes in my diet and exercise, I noticed I had some emotional issues going on, but I just couldn’t put my finger on the source.  I stepped down from a leadership position so I could focus more on God’s Word.

Satan has been tempting me emotionally by reminding me of my past — mistakes I made, people I hurt, things I did, etc. I never know when my mind is going to be bombarded with images of things that happened some 30-40 years ago. 

In Matthew 4:1-11, Jesus was tempted in the desert.  Each time Satan tempted Him, Jesus used Scripture as His shield.  When these images from my past come up, I, too, use the Word of God: “Away from me, Satan! For it is written: ‘Worship the Lord your God, and serve him only.Matthew 4:10 (NIV)

Our battle is not over until we pass from this world.  We need to stay on guard, protecting ourselves from the distractions the enemy throws at us because he knows just where to get us.  We are reminded of this in 1 Peter 5:8, “Be alert and of sober mind.  Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.” (NIV)

Satan knew he couldn’t entice me with food, so he’s using my past. Proverbs 4:23 says, “Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.” (NIV)

I am guarding my heart and my mind by using God’s Word just as Jesus did.

What are you doing in the midst of your own battle?

14 thoughts on “A Raging Battle

  1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts today. I am going through the same sort of battle with Satan. But I am empowered by this study we are doing, and am craving God, and putting Satan behind me, and God in front of me! Have a blessed day!

    • Amen, Linda!! Great job putting on the full armor of God:

      “Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.” Ephesians 6:11-13

      Thank you for stopping by today!

  2. It really struck a nerve when you mentioned how Satan tempts you with reminders of your past! This same thing has been happening to me over the past year or so. Some things that happened as a teenager have suddenly sprung up in my mind and made me so ashamed – wondering why they have come to mind again now. I hadn’t thought of these memories as an attack, but I do now!

    • Makes me so mad when it happens, Jeanne, but by combating these attacks back with Scripture really helps! I find that writing down a couple and carrying them with me helps me to memorize them.

  3. Thank you for sharing. When I started this study I too could see where Satan attacks us at our weakest points. And sadly sometimes it’s so easy to get sucked into his lies. Thankfully blogs like yours remind us we don’t have to listen to him and can call on God for strength and help.

  4. Amen sister. Sounds like you have a real good handle on the Word of God and know how to use it. I too have a past and Satan has tried to keep me in a position of “not good enough” because of it. BUT once we are saved (Accept Jesus as our Lord and Savior) we are good enough. God believed in us enough to send His Son to die for us. We must get into the Word of God and renew our minds with right thinking about ourselves. We must learn who we are in Christ, through studying His Word. Gods many blessings to you today and everyday.

  5. This is a WORD, I tell you. If he can’t get at you in your old area of weakness, he’ll find another route. I do find myself rehashing the past – to no good end. Thank you for sharing your wisdom here, Pat. And for challenging us to take a hard look at what we’re doing about it!

  6. Thank you SO much for sharing this. It wasn’t until I read it that I realized, I too am letting the enemy rule over a specific area of my life, working out. I used to love it and now just thinking about it exhausts me. I know God wants me in the best physical shape I can be in and I’m choosing to ignore it. I think I have something new to add to my prayer list. Thank you Pat!!!

Leave a Reply

