Determination

determination

Determination: a quality that makes you continue trying to do
or achieve something that is difficult.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I just finished reading Leviticus in my Bible reading plan. The subheadings in Leviticus 26 are “Blessings for Obedience” and “Punishments for Disobedience”.  In this chapter, God warns the Israelites what would happen if they did not follow His commands:

“…and if your break my covenant by rejecting my decrees, treating my regulations with contempt, and refusing to obey my commands, I will punish you.” Leviticus 26:15-16a (NLT)

Fast forward through the books of Kings, and we read that God allowed the Israelites to be conquered and put in Babylonian captivity because of their rebellion to Him and their sins of idolatry. 

I have also suffered the consequences for my own sin of disobedience — I have a broken-down and overweight body because I have not cared for it the way I should have. I have overeaten and the weight I’ve put on has added stress to my very arthritic spine and joints. Some of the arthritis that ravages my body may have been caused by my over-indulgence of wheat products (I’ve read that gluten causes an inflammatory response).

My weight-loss struggle IS punishment for my own sin! Simply put — I overate and no one made me do it.  There may have been some psychological and/or spiritual reasons for my overeating, but I am still the one who made the bad choices through the years.

But — I have DETERMINATION to:

1. First and foremost, be obedient to God;
2. Eat only appropriate portions of food;
3. Remove all sugar, gluten, and dairy from my diet;
4. Exercise as much as my body will allow me to;
5. Keep track of my food intake and exercise;
6. Stay accountable with my sisters in Christ;
7. Get healthier so I may be used by the LORD!

In chapter 5 of Made to Crave, Lysa TerKeurst writes: “We were made for victory. Sometimes we just have to find our way to that truth.” (page 49)

The truth is that I was NOT made to be a slave to the sin of over-eating!!  I am determined to serve ONLY God and NOT the cravings of this world because I was made for more!! What are you determined to do?

16 thoughts on “Determination

  1. Thanks for sharing your determination. I too am determined and making choices similar to yours. Thankfully we don’t make this journey alone – we have God and our Christian sisters on our team. We can do it!

  2. Sometimes we are afraid to be honest with ourselves about how we got to where we are. Your honesty and repentance from those mistakes is so real and so encouraging. It made me think about what I have done to reach the point where I am. But, it also encouraged me to think about the grace and strength that God provides when we acknowledge our mistakes and turn our life over to Him. Thank you for sharing your experience!

  3. Hi…just “hopped” over to your blog from the P31 page. I just want to encourage you in your journey. I think you have set some good goals for determination. I would encourage you to take small steps, make changes one at a time – you can celebrate your successes and move to your next goal with confidence. For instance, I set a goal initially of getting to the gym three times a week. After about a month, I was able to stick with it and set a new goal (tracking my food, cutting down on my sugar, learning to jump rope…I missed that day in elementary school, etc.) Each month, I set a new goal. Keep up your hard work! God will honor your efforts and you will reach your goals!

    Cindy

    • Thank you, Cindy, for your kinds words today and advice. These things are all things I have added slowly…very, very slowly. Right now if I can get to the YMCA 2x a week, that is a good week, so that is my next goal…3x a week!!

      Thank you for taking time out to read my blog and leave some encouraging words!!

  4. Thank you for sharing! I have not cared for myself either and I am taking it day by day. God is there for us and you can do it! Stay strong!!

    • It is hard to admit that we have done this to ourselves, but for me, the best part of this journey has been repenting of this sin…it’s been so freeing!! You are right that God is there to meet us where we are and He will give us the strength to be obedient if we ask. Thank you, Jennifer!!

  5. I love that ending : “The Truth is that I was Not made to be a slave to the sin of over-eating!! I am determined to serve only God and Not the cravings of this world because I was made for more.”
    Thank you for sharing your story.

  6. Amen! AMEN! You are more than a Conqueror, my friend. I love how deep and how I you grasp the love of your God for you. It is clear that you understand that He that is within you is so much greater than that which is without. I’m cheering you on, friend!

    • Oh, thank you dear sweet Missy!! I am so ON FIRE right now with determination to get this weight off so I can be used for His glory. Thank you so much for being my cheer leader — that means so much to me!! ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

