Emotional Triggers

Emotional Triggers

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Since the last P31 study, Satan has been attacking me with my childhood and things that I did before I became a Christian.  I withdrew from some activities to really dig into God’s Word.  With the LORD’s help, He showed me how to deflect those arrows.  Then a few weeks ago I was invited to my 35 year high school reunion.

As I started to connect with former classmates, I felt led to apologize to two people.  The first one was very gracious and we started messaging. The other was fairly nice in the first reply, but I found it odd that my apology wasn’t accepted.  In the second reply, I was told that I needed to “let go of the past”.

I was a bit hurt at first, but then quickly realized there was truth in what this person said…truth I desperately needed to hear.

The host of the reunion started posting photographs from the yearbook.  None of me, of course, because I was not athletic, not popular, not much of anything — just a teenager trying to survive.  I could feel the ungodly emotions start to come back: fear, anxiety, shame, and anger. When a “hangover picnic” was added to reunion page, I felt the Holy Spirit prompting me to delete myself from the reunion page (I am an alcoholic).

Even though I am no longer the person I was 35 years ago, the photos were bringing back emotional triggers that use to make me want to overeat.  By deleting myself from the reunion page, I removed myself from the source of my temptations: the temptation to keep looking back at my past, the temptation of wishing for a childhood that I didn’t have and the temptation to eat to fill the void from both.

In the past, I ate when I’ve been hurt. I ate when I was scared. I ate when I was angry.  I ate when I was lonely. I ate when I was sad.  I ate when I was ashamed.  When you’re a broken person with a very broken past, it’s easy to find excuses to overeat.

This time, I did not eat — I dove into God’s Word, allowing His Truth to saturate my mind instead of the lies I was hearing.  Instead of feeling sad for the childhood that I did not have, I choose to be THANKFUL for what I DO have!!

Forget

In chapter 14 of Made to Crave, Lysa TerKeurst writes how we need to deal with our emotional triggers.  I am doing this, and instead of thinking on these hard things from my past, I’m following Lisa’s advice by “parking my mind in a better spot” (page 141):

“Summing it all up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious—the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse.” Philippians 4:8 (The Message)

17 thoughts on “Emotional Triggers

  1. I can really relate to the emotional eating and finding any really to eat anything! Good for you to not giving into temptation!! I love the phrase parking my mind in a better spot too! I want to be positive and not negative. Keep focusing and heading in the right direction. Thank you for the encouragement!

  2. Many people can look into the past and not like the person that they were at one time. What is important is to look ahead and do God’s will at this time NOW. Thank you for writing about a difficult past, I pray you will have peace and continue to grow. Enjoyed reading your thoughts.

    • Oh, I so agree, Yvonne, about looking ahead. I’m so thankful for the things I’m getting out of MTC (it’s my THIRD time!) in this season. Thank you for your kind words and for stopping by today.

    • AMEN!!!!

      Last night I had a bad dream — instead of focusing on the dream, I said to myself “parking my mind in a better spot” and started praising Him!! God IS so good in His provisions!! 😀

  3. Hi there Prunable, I like that name. I thought, I want to be that too. A little scary 🙂 I very much related to what you wrote about your childhood. My four younger siblings and I have lots of pain in our past. I’m going to be 62 and I realize I still have stuff I haven’t dealt with. Both my parents died young ( 40’s ). Though my dad was only around for the first 5 or 6 years of my life. Do we just let it go?? I do that and it pops up again so even though I give it to my Heavenly Father I must take it back because it’s like a boomerang of sorts with a delay of months or years. Anyway I am very impressed with your awesome blog lady. ❤

    • Hi, loso57. I am so very sorry you have a painful past. For me, it’s been easier to let God have it and NOT rehash it — I found that psychologists and psychiatrists just want to go over the past, and I’ve never found that helpful. I guess that’s why I love Isaiah 43:18-19 so much — to forget the former things and move on to the new things God is doing in us. Maybe we can help others who have gone through the same things we have as we’re instructed in 2 Corinthians 1:4 “He comforts us in all our troubles so that we can comfort others. When they are troubled, we will be able to give them the same comfort God has given us.”

      Thank you so much for your kind words. Praying you can give all these worries to the LORD and not allow Satan’s arrows through.

      • Hi Prunable doing much better, working on getting a blog up and running so I can participate in the blog hops P31 does in their bible studies. I’m doing the limitless life now by Derwin Grey. Anyway I just wanted to thank you for your kindness to me. God Bless.

  4. Today I’ve decided to park my mind in a better place. One of love and acceptance and holding up high my shield of faith to extinguish all those flaming arrows of the evil one. This is my first time doing a on line bible study and it’s been amazing and I was doing well but all the sudden it’s like my medication for depression doesn’t work anymore and I’m sinking. I go to the doctor tomorrow but maybe it’s a spiritual attack instead of physical. Not long ago I was on top of the world with the transformation I was experiencing as a result of my study in the MTC and action plan. Any way thank you for the blessing you have been to me.

    • I LOVE “parking my mind in a better place”. When I get bad thoughts of the past, I just remind myself of this and it’s helped me so much. I’m thankful you’re going to your doctor tomorrow. Please keep me informed on how you’re doing. ❤

    • I am so thankful that you’re doing better!! God is SO good in His provisions!!!

      I look forward to reading your blogs in the future. God bless! ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

