Intentional Sacrifice

In chapter 17 of Made to Crave, Lysa TerKeurst writes about lasting, sustainable
discipline and the importance of making one wise choice after another.

excellence

This is my third time reading Made to Crave. I am down another 10 pounds because
I’m exercising more and I am also eating healthier than I have in the last 20 years.

Losing 10 pounds is great, but the habits that are more important are the
spiritual disciplines I’ve picked up this time. I am reading and staying in His Word,
getting rid of the negative thoughts by “parking my mind in a better spot”,
and making this journey about worshiping God:

“Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters,
in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies
as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—
this is your true and proper worship.
Do not conform to the pattern of this world,
but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.
Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—
his good, pleasing and perfect will.”  
Romans 12:1-2 (NLT)

~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~ ~  ~ ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~


The Holy Spirit is inspiring me to make one wise choice after another
and I do believe that these are sustainable disciplines. To God be the glory!!

This is one of the personal reflection questions from page 145:

“A mosaic is a work of art made up of hundreds or thousands of tiny broken
pieces of  glass or ceramic tile.  Lysa describes how God is making a mosaic
of restoration and healing in her heart, gathering up her broken pieces and
making them into something beautiful.   Can you imagine God doing
something like this in your heart?   If God used the broken pieces of your
life to make a beautiful image, what do you hope it would look like?”

 To celebrate the wonderful restoration God has been doing on my own heart,
I am making a mosaic heart using broken shell pieces that I picked up at
Jones Beach the last time I was on Long Island.  If you’d like to do something similar
(you can use broken shells, broken china, broken pieces of glass, beads, etc.),
here is a link on “how to make a mosaic heart”
and other ideas on Pinterest.

~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~

mosaic heart

Heavenly Father, thank You for this journey and the things You are teaching me. Thank You for reminding me that this is not a diet and that this is a spiritual journey. Please continue to show me ways I must remove myself from temptation so that I may be obedient to Your voice — I desire to lead a life that is physically, emotionally and spiritually healthy so I can be used for Your glory. Please accept what I am doing to improve myself as my sacrificial offering to You —may they be a pleasing aroma to You. In Jesus’ name I pray.  Amen.

21 thoughts on “Intentional Sacrifice

  1. Beautiful mosaic heart and beautiful words that reflect your own heart. The Romans verse is so powerful because it asks us not to conform to this world but to spend time with our eyes focused on Jesus. I pray we all are able to spend time each day listening for God’s whispers and use this time to center us for the day. Blessings, Mary!

    • I can’t take full credit for this heart, Mary…it’s a free photo that I put in a digital frame. I hope to share a photo of my broken shell mosaic soon, though!!

      Thank you so much for stopping by today and for your kind comments. 😀

  2. I love your mosaic heart! This is also my 3rd time to do MTC. I’m a slow learner but learning to park my mind in a better spot has been such a place of spiritual growth for me. Blessings to you!

    • Julie, I am so glad you’re also getting more learning out of MTC the third time around!! I can’t believe I didn’t pick up on the “parking my mind in a better spot” the first time around. 😉

    • Melissa, thanks, but I didn’t make this heart…well, I did, but it’s just a free photo that I put in a heart frame. I hope to post a photo of my “broken shell” mosaic heart soon. 😀

  3. Parking my mind in a better spot right along with you, sweet friend. Oh, yes I am! I may need to read through this gem of a book one or two more times, myself, but oh boy – do I ever see beautiful spiritual changes and a deeper desire to be obedient to Him and Him alone! To God be the glory, indeed! Love you.

  4. Thank you for sharing your thoughts in this blog for our final week of MTC. 🙂 Thank you for the prayer, too. The mosaic heart is great. I so like mosaics, and just the idea of God putting broken pieces back together with His indefatigable love is amazing! Through MTC I am acknowledging that I am broken and in need of emotional healing. Praise God! He is at work. God continue to bless you richly!

    • Cindy, I am so thankful that God is at work and healing you!! He is SO Good!! 😀

      The mosaic heart here on this blog is just artwork I made, but I hope to post my broken shell heart soon. If you make one, I hope you’ll share a pic!

      Thank you for stopping by today. God bless!! 😀

  5. Three times and it’s working for you. i am still struggling but making those baby steps. Thanks for sharing. I love your heart and need to head over and PIN that site. THANKS for sharing. Debbie W. (OBS Team Leader)

  6. I love that this is a spiritual journey not a diet and that I am changing on the inside as well as the outside. I am so glad that I have found that out during this study. Love the mosaic!

  7. This is my first time doing M2C and pretty sure I’ll be reading it again. This has been an eye opening journey and one I know I will need to reach back for the “want to,” by re-reading and applying. One day at a time, and in His strength I will press on!! Thanks for sharing and I truly loved your prayer!! 🙂

  8. I love your picture with the woman and her weights at the foot of the cross! It really says so much. This was my second time reading Made to Crave and I can definitely see myself going through it again and again. Congrats on your 10 pounds and new wonderful habits!

Leave a Reply

