Committing our plans

 A coworker has started using a weight loss program where she eats mostly carbs one day and then eats mostly protein another day (and also uses expensive shakes and supplements).  She shared with me how she will be under a “certain number” by the end of the year.  This information started to make me sad jealous because that particular number had also been my personal goal weight by the end of December.  

I felt sorry for myself for a few hours, but then I took out my scale as soon as I got home from work.  I had NOT weighed in since Thanksgiving because I had put the scale away while my toddler grandson was visiting — I was pleasantly surprised to find out that I have only gained 3 pounds!!!  I realized I should not have been so surprised because even though I have indulged a bit, I have also continued to drink water, do my yoga stretches in the morning and walk in the afternoon.

I have LOST and KEPT OFF about 25 pounds this year, so I am very, very thankful!!!

I was ashamed at myself for coveting my friend’s weight loss.  By going home and weighing myself, God allowed me to see that what I had been doing was working and that I need to stick with it.  I am committing to get back on my diet plan on December 28th so that I will be under a particular weight by my birthday in April.  I used a weight loss calculator to see if this is a realistic goal and it is — by keeping under 1700 calories per day and continuing to exercise daily, I can do it!!   

proverbs 16-3

 ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~

 Do you have any plans you need to commit to the LORD?

Leave a Reply

