Choose not to be smelly

pleasing aroma

Have you ever known someone whom you didn’t see eye to eye with?  Maybe this person’s words and actions irritated you so much that you couldn’t stand to be around them? 

There have been several people in my life where our personalities clashed and we didn’t get along.  Most of them were arrogant men — men who weren’t very kind, were know-it-alls, and were very bossy to all the women in their lives.   Right now there’s a woman I know who acts very similar.  Our personalities differ so much and some days it seems like she says things just to get me angry.   

As I was reading the Bible this week, she came to mind when I read the Apostle Paul’s words in 2 Corinthians 2:14 – 15 reminding us of our aroma:   “But thanks be to God, who in Christ always leads us in triumphal procession, and through us spreads the fragrance of the knowledge of him everywhere.  For we are the aroma of Christ to God among those who are being saved and among those who are perishing.

I wasn’t reminded of her, but of my own actions and words towards her.  Ouch. 

If we are to be fragrant as we spread the knowledge of Christ, we have to not be offensive (or stinky!) in our dealings with others.  Of course, that doesn’t mean we have to agree with what others are saying, but we must choose our words carefully.

I realize that this is a spiritual battle and I let my guard down.  I choose NOT to be smelly and to pray each day asking God to help me when I respond to her. 

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Thank You, Father, for Your Word.  Thank You, Jesus, for Your example to us when You were here on earth.  Thank You for loving me in spite of how I fail You each day.  Please forgive my horrible stench — my actions and words sometimes do not show You working in me, and I repent of this sin.  Please guide me each day to be a pleasing aroma so that others may see You.  In Jesus’ name I ask this so that You may be glorified.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “Choose not to be smelly

Leave a Reply

