No more fluff

  Fluff (noun)
1. light, downy particles, as of cotton.
2. a soft, light, downy mass: “a fluff of summer clouds”
3. something of no consequence: “This book is pure fluff, but was fun to read.”

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~~ ~ ~

 

When I think of fluff, this is the very first thing that comes to my mind:

 fluff

Oh so sweet, oh so gooey marshmallow creme.
On a peanut butter sandwich it is wonderfully delicious,
but the creme (and the white bread) are totally worthless for you nutritionally.

When
I quit all forms of structured ministry last year, I gained more time to make meals for people and had more time to encourage others.  When I stopped reading fiction and discontinued online Christian book studies, I was able to read through the Bible twice.  When I gave up white sugar and white flour, I began reading food labels more and started eating a healthier diet. When I took apps off my Ipad and didn’t get on Facebook so much, I found more time to go the gym and refound my love of exercise.

When Paul wrote to the Corinthians, he was writing in response to the sinful things that were going on in Corinth.  The below Scripture reminds us that even though we have freedom in Christ, not everything is constructive or beneficial:

1 Corinth 10-23

 ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~

 I love living life more purposefully.  By removing some fluff,  I feel like I’m not wasting the precious resource of time and I’m definitely not as stressed.   I also feel like the things I’m doing are more intentional, and because I’m not overly busy I am able to listen to the Holy Spirit’s prompting.  This week I put in an application for a month long mission trip.  Please pray for me if this is God’s will I will be accepted. 

2 thoughts on “No more fluff

    • I’ve never had a “love”, Jeanie — thanks for being my first one. God has really been pruning away at me, and I’m thankful for His leading. Have a blessed week, my friend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

