Don’t keep Jesus in the manger

  When we lived in Utah, one cold night I came home from work at 10:30 pm to find my entire neighborhood searching with flashlights and calling out my daughter’s name (she was three-years-old at the time). I frantically ran into our house to find that she had gotten out of bed at 9:30 pm to look for me — my husband had been outside cleaning his company vehicle and sent her back in the house. When he went inside a few moments later to tuck her back in bed, he couldn’t find her and asked a neighbor to stay with our son while he searched for her. The neighbor then called other neighbors to form a search party.

Thankfully, I found her in the bathroom under her pink blankie, hidden in between the tub and commode. I had only been involved in the search for less than 10 minutes, but my knees literally gave out from under me and I fell to the ground when I found her. I was emotionally and physically drained from the adrenaline rush, and one VERY, VERY thankful mama.

I wonder if this is how Mary and Joseph felt when they found Jesus after he was missing for 3 days. I also wonder if they had been busy with life and the raising of Jesus that they had forgotten Who their son was. Were the visits from the angels, shepherds and wise men a distant memory? Had they lost sight of Simeon’s blessing? Or were they terrified because they had lost the Son of God?

~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~

 Now his parents went to Jerusalem every year at the Feast of the Passover. And when he was twelve years old, they went up according to custom. And when the feast was ended, as they were returning, the boy Jesus stayed behind in Jerusalem. His parents did not know it, but supposing him to be in the group they went a day’s journey, but then they began to search for him among their relatives and acquaintances, and when they did not find him, they returned to Jerusalem, searching for him. After three days they found him in the temple, sitting among the teachers, listening to them and asking them questions. And all who heard him were amazed at his understanding and his answers. And when his parents saw him, they were astonished. And his mother said to him, “Son, why have you treated us so? Behold, your father and I have been searching for you in great distress.” And he said to them, “Why were you looking for me? Did you not know that I must be in my Father’s house?” And they did not understand the saying that he spoke to them. And he went down with them and came to Nazareth and was submissive to them. And his mother treasured up all these things in her heart.

And Jesus increased in wisdom and in stature and in favor with God and man.
Luke 2:41 – 52 (ESV)

~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~

 As you begin to put your Christmas decorations away,
please don’t lose sight of the significance of Jesus’ birth.
Don’t keep Jesus in the manger.

cross

Leave a Reply

